Ikea Kopardal Bed Review

When I was considering this bed, I did the normal thing and trawled the internet trying to find some real life photos or reviews of the KOPARDAL bed. Apart from a couple of staged shots on Pinterest. I came up with zilch. So I thought I would share my thoughts on this bed and a few pictures during the build.

AN IMPORTANT WARNING:

When we saw the bed in the showroom, I did the usual IKEA thing and went to make a note of the location for the boxes. But it said to contact staff, so I went and found some one and asked about the bed. He warned me it came in 4 boxes and to take one of the print outs from next to the bed as it contained the location of each box. Sounded simple enough…What he didn’t say, was that the print out was for the double version only!

Cue me looking around the picking area for these said boxes, but there was no king size available!  So I went and found another member of staff who then explained the King size version headboard is kept as a different depot and that I would have to pay here and then drive my car over and collect it. But the mid beam,slats and side rails are in this depot, and gave me the correct locations.

Very Confusing! Why not put the location of all sizes on the print out? I also picked up a king size HAMARVIK mattress in firm. Just to explain on the sizes of boxes, it all fit in my Skoda Fabia with 2 kids!

The bed generally was very easy to put together, the only fiddly bit was trying to screw the side bars to the head board and foot board. They do provide a slightly angled allen key to do the job, but you can literally rotate it a few mm each time and then take it out and start again. For the whole bed you have to do this to 8 screws, so you need patience!

It took about half an hour to get to this stage on my own, then it was a case of clipping the mid beam onto one end and carefully extending it without cutting myself, it is very sharp! Follow the instructions and keep your fingers away from the side of it.

Not really sure how much difference there is between the 3 types of slats IKEA offer, I just went with the cheapest, as trying to keep to a budget. Plus you can buy the slats on their own, so I may consider upgrading them at a later date. But a week of sleeping on these now and they are very comfortable.

The bed feels very solid, no movement what so ever. The mattress literally sprung open when I removed the packaging. It says it takes 72 hours to fully expand, but by later that day the mattress was already plump and very comfortable. I was thinking about getting a mattress topper at a later date, but I don’t think the bed needs it. Its really very comfortable as it is.

So here is the bed all set up, with some Primark bedding, and my new Biba cushions which I grabbed during the January sales in House of Fraser. The ropes lights were from the B&Q sale, and the sheepskin was from my husband for Christmas. I will explain more about when I sourced things when I do the full bedroom reveal.

Share:

47 Comments

  1. Autumn
    April 12, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    Thank you for this review! I’ve been searching for reviews everywhere for this bed. Have you slept on the bed yet? Is it comfortable with the metal headboard?

    • Layney
      April 23, 2017 / 9:05 am

      Yes its really comfy, we purchased some really firm plump cushions so they don’t collapse between the bars when sitting up.

  2. Caleb
    April 26, 2017 / 12:57 am

    What is the measurement; floor to top of mattress or floor to slats? We have the malm bed frame but want something a little hugher off the floor and framing like this.

    • Layney
      April 26, 2017 / 8:01 pm

      Hi Caleb, it is 16inches from floor to the top of the mattress. From what I remember of trying the Malm in store, they are about the same height.

  3. Sarah
    May 8, 2017 / 6:58 pm

    Thanks for the article, am considering buying this bed frame and this was very useful!

    • Layney
      May 10, 2017 / 7:36 pm

      aww thank you, glad I could help xx

  4. Anna
    May 10, 2017 / 8:22 pm

    thanks for the review

    • Layney
      May 22, 2017 / 12:26 pm

      no problem 🙂

  5. Sam
    May 19, 2017 / 12:45 pm

    Thanks for posting this useful review! This bed and mattress were exactly what I was looking at buying but I wasn’t sure about how comfy they would be. Your post has been most helpful! Thank you!

    • Layney
      May 22, 2017 / 12:26 pm

      You are welcome x glad I could help.

  6. Jessie
    May 19, 2017 / 7:28 pm

    Hi, thanks for the review! This was really helpful! How’s much space is there under the bed? I was comparing this with the LEIRVIK and Malm models. My roommate has the LEIRVIK and it has ample room for large storage bins underneath which is what I need, but it’s a little girly for my taste and I’ve heard the Malm is pretty low to the ground. I don’t have a store near me to check these out myself unfortunately 🙁

    Also is the headboard optional? Do I have to attach it for the frame to work?

    Thanks!

  7. Mim
    May 22, 2017 / 1:52 pm

    Thanks for the review! I’ve been looking to buy the bed when I move for gradschool. Is the bed sturdy? I’m that kind of person who likes to hurl myself onto the mattresses. From your experience with kopardal, do you think it could withstand 2 years of going at it? (I weight 110 lbs if that matters). Also, what kind of uber do you think could help me haul the packages back? Unfortunately, I don’t have a car 🙁

    • Layney
      May 22, 2017 / 4:02 pm

      The bed is really sturdy, it withstands my 3 kids jumping all over it lol At least if any thing breaks it would be the slats and they can be easily replaced. Does your local IKEA deliver, the boxes would fit into most cars.

  8. Melissa
    June 18, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    Hi! Thanks for this. Would it allow for a box spring if I decided to keep my box spring?

    • Layney
      June 19, 2017 / 9:56 am

      Hi yes it would be fine with a box spring matress. x

  9. Angie
    June 29, 2017 / 2:24 am

    Thank you so much for this review! I’ve been looking for pictures and reviews for this bed. I’m trying to buy one for my fiance and me. But is it too girly for a guy to sleep in though?

    • Layney
      July 12, 2017 / 9:15 pm

      Definitely not too girly, just get some beautiful gender neutral bedding and he will love it x

  10. Sasha
    July 5, 2017 / 3:41 pm

    Hey 🙂 I was just wondering if you find this bed squeaky or noisy at all? I’ve bought a metal frame bed in the past and it would creek when I rolled over which was very irritating 😅

    • Layney
      July 12, 2017 / 9:15 pm

      Hi, not at all. I’ve got 3 kids that are constantly using as a trampoline and no squeaks or movement at all x

  11. Em
    July 8, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    Hello! My question is that online it says that the frame is gray, but the pictures on their site and your post look like the bed is black. Can you tell me the true color of the bed? Also, does it come off as rod iron? Or looks/feels more like wood? Thanks!

    • Layney
      July 12, 2017 / 9:14 pm

      It’s very much a slate grey colour, it’s beautiful. You can tell it’s metal though. xx

  12. Karen
    August 29, 2017 / 5:59 am

    Thanks for the detailed review. It’s exactly what I’ve been looking for – a low profile, no footboard simple iron bed in grey.

    Are you still happy with it a few months later?

    Thanks!

    • Layney
      September 5, 2017 / 1:16 pm

      Hi Karen, yes I still love it. I’ve even dismantled it to move house and rebuilt it and still solid.

  13. Paula
    September 7, 2017 / 2:12 pm

    Hi…trying to put this bed together and once we tighten each corner, it won’t sit flat?

    • Layney
      September 13, 2017 / 9:05 pm

      Even with the weight of the slats and mattress? Perhaps one of the side beams have been bent? Best to talk to IKEA and see if they could maybe replace?

  14. Sally Miura
    October 11, 2017 / 4:55 pm

    Hello, I am planning to build the bed on my own. Is that doable?

    Thanks!

    • Layney
      October 17, 2017 / 11:04 pm

      yes absolutely x I did it on my own no problem.

  15. Bri
    November 8, 2017 / 2:24 am

    I’ve been admiring this bed frame for sometime as my S.O. and I are upgrading to a king size bed. Would it be possible to assemble this bed without the headboard? We have our eye on a wood paneled one we would love.

    • Layney
      November 8, 2017 / 10:55 am

      Hi Bri, yes you could build this bed without the headboard attached. Its just attached to the side of the bed with a few screws.

  16. Kat
    December 14, 2017 / 4:21 pm

    Hi there, this is so helpful! Funny how many people have questions about this bed; you’re so kind to answer them all! If you can spare a moment, I was wondering how high it is off the ground (from the ground until the slats or frame). I see you measured it to the height of the mattress, but would you kindly let me/is know this information, I would be very grateful. Thanks again.

    • Layney
      December 18, 2017 / 6:04 pm

      Hi Kat, Ive got the GIMSE under bed storage boxes which are 19cm tall. They fit perfectly with a few mm to spare. Hope that helps xx

  17. Julia
    January 1, 2018 / 11:59 pm

    Girl I love you for this review 😅.I really like this bed and I want to buy it but I am not sure about this bed’s headboard,is it comfortable. If I put big pillows on it,will I feel comfortable with that?
    I wish you a happy new year and I’m sorry for my English ,I quess it’s not good but I hope you will understeand me .😊

    • Layney
      January 2, 2018 / 11:56 am

      Hi Julia, I have really big fat pillows, and they stand up in front of head board no problem. I don’t feel the bars at all. Thank you and have a happy new year too xx

  18. asaf
    January 3, 2018 / 4:55 pm

    Great Review.

    My GF and I love jumping on the bed 🙂
    Is it sturdy and durable ? or does it move around from the inevitable inertia ?

    Thanks.

    • Layney
      January 5, 2018 / 1:55 pm

      It is very sturdy 🙂

  19. Tyler
    January 18, 2018 / 8:55 pm

    Excellent review! I’ve been debating for several months if I should get this bed frame. Beginning of 2018, I did a whole apartment clean out. I’m transitioning to become minimalist. Going to down grade from a king to queen. Getting things for king is expensive. I was surprised how cheap the frame was. I want to get the Moredal foam mattress, however I might get the mattress you got. I love the way you did the string lights. Thank you again for the review. I’m tempted to check out the rest of your blog!

    • Layney
      January 22, 2018 / 10:47 am

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I tried going minimalist… it didn’t last very long for me lol I am happiest in a maximilist home.

  20. Karen
    January 18, 2018 / 9:16 pm

    Hi, Which mattress did you buy with the bed?

  21. Neil
    February 10, 2018 / 10:06 pm

    Did you get the King or Double? Just wondering how accurate the width measurements are on the website. States 142cm vs 162cm (bit too wide), could you shed any light on it at all?

    • Layney
      February 14, 2018 / 12:38 pm

      Hi Neil

      I got the kingsize and the size is accurate as the legs slightly stick out.

  22. Leslie
    February 20, 2018 / 11:20 am

    Hello,
    Thank you for the review! When i was reading the reviews on IKEA’s website a reviewer said that they had to purchase an extra set of slats for their bed, do you think that would be necessary with the queen?

    • Layney
      February 20, 2018 / 12:08 pm

      Hi Leslie, I just have the budget set of slats and they have been fine. Ive not needed to buy any extra. We have the king size bed. x

  23. Mim
    March 15, 2018 / 12:53 pm

    Hi, I just brought an ikea bed in July and have had to return it due to it been squeaky. I’m a light sleeper so this was driving me insane. I had a metal frame ikea loft bed in my teen years which was insane for squeaking and creaking.

    Has this frame started to make any noise at all, I noticed you said you’ve even moved house with it. I don’t have the money to buy a third bed in under a year if this one starts to make noise.

    Thank you for your help!

    • Layney
      March 26, 2018 / 4:17 pm

      It has needed tightening once since we moved house, but that stopped any squeaking 😀

  24. Karen
    April 5, 2018 / 3:04 pm

    Thanks so much for posting your review! It helped me decide on this bed since there wasn’t much online other than a few mixed reviews on the Ikea website.

    I fell for this bed months ago and read everything I could online. I recently got a job next to an Ikea so kept going in to visit before I finally bought my own!

    Brought the king size home and put it together last night (with the help of a friend thankfully). You’re absolutely right – the first step is the hardest tightening the screws Within that small clearance. After that, it wasn’t too tough.

    It looks great – I have a small space and the king is perfect since it’s not visually bulky. My dog prefers the low profile to jump up and down easier.

    Thanks again for posting!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *